The new Oklahoma granite obelisks awaits its brickwork, benches and state marker.

Obelisk Replacements

MOH Recipient Leo Thorsness and Bruce Whitman, Medal of Honor Foundation President visited the Oklahoma area in May 2014.

November 18, 2016

West Virginia will be the next state to install a granite obelisk. The Ruritan Civic Service Organization has fundraised for several years to replace the fiberglass obelisk. Jerome, from the W Virginia Ruritans, spent 2 days at the Grove repairing the brick pad and preparing it for the new obelisk. Thank you Jerome!

November 10, 2016

The Maryland Military Historical Society fundraised to replace the fiberglass obelisk in the Medal of Honor Grove in Valley Forge, PA with a granite one. It was installed on November 10th.

Watch the video here

April 24, 2018

The new granite Oklahoma obelisk was installed by HC Woods Cemetery Memorials due to the hard work and commitment of the Freedoms Foundation Oklahoma City Chapter. The Chapter raised the money to upgrade their state area. Brickwork, benches and a state marker will be completed by June 27, 2018 when a public re-dedication ceremony will be held.

June 27, 2018

The Oklahoma City Chapter of the Freedoms Foundation raised the funds to restore their state area. There is now a polished red granite obelisk, benches and state marker as well as a new brick plaza and sidewalk. Thank you Oklahoma!

The Medal of Honor Grove land was dedicated in 1964. California, Mississippi, Nevada and Ohio were the first to be dedicated on May 30, 1968 with fiberglass obelisks. Over the years 30 fiberglass obelisks have either been replaced or originally dedicated with stone. Our goal is to have every state represented with a stone obelisk. There are various types in the Grove - Limestone, Marble (not a good choice for the outdoors) and Granite. The most unique obelisk is N. Dakota which was made with a stone from each county in the state.

To date, the following states still have fiberglass obelisks:

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine,  Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, South Dakota & Washington

If you are a member of an organization that would like to raise the funding to install a granite obelisk in any of these states, please contact us at: for guidance.

The re-dedication of the West Virginia state area took place on Wed., June 21, 2017. The original fiberglass obelisk was dedicated in 1981. This re-dedication celebrated the installation of a granite obelisk. The West Virginia Ruritan organization spearheaded the fundraising for the new obelisk. Medal of Honor Recipient Hershel "Woody" Williams unveiled the original obelisk in 1981 and in 2017 re-dedicated the new one. The Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge Medal of Honor Grove is the oldest living memorial to recipients in our nation.